World Media

UDF wins Kerala's Vengara assembly seat, BJP placed fourth

UDF wins Kerala's Vengara assembly seat, BJP placed fourth

In 2016 assembly elections, it won 7,055 votes in this constituency. But a significant fall in the victory margin - IUML's P K Kunhalikutty won in 2016 by 38,057 votes - and progress made by the CPM could offer new readings into the poll outcome.

Sources said after the first round of vote count, Sunil Jakhar, son of former Lok Sabha speaker Balram Jakhar, was leading his rivals by 14,300 votes. Khader secured 65227 votes as against Basheer's 41917.

Having polled 8,648 votes, the SDPI was upbeat.

BMW To Outsource Mini Production To China's Great Wall
The deal would be a first for Great Wall, the largest SUV producer in the Middle Kingdom, which has yet to have a foreign partner. Daimler, Ford, General Motors and the Renault-Nissan Alliance announced similar joint ventures.

Punjab Congress president Sunil Jakhar with State Cabinet minister Navjot Singh Sidhu and other party leaders showing his victory certificate after winning the Gurdaspur parliamentary bypoll on Sunday.

Victory for UDF in Vengara by polls. "The CPM candidate seems to have got the BJP votes in the constituency, that shows the collusion between these two parties", said Congress strongman and UDF opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala.

While UDF claims that the result is a strong message to the poor performance of left government, CPI (M) highlights their increase in vote share in the green bastion.

At Least 6 Killed In Northern Kenya School Attack
Police chief Nyabuto said that the boy belongs to the Toposa ethnic group from South Sudan, while the boy he had fought with was from the Kenyan Turkana ethnic group.

The sitting MLA of Vengara PK Kunhalikkutty contested and won from the Malappuram Parliament constituency following the demise of E Ahamed earlier this year - paving way for a by-election.

The poll result sealed a disappointing turn for the National Democratic Alliance with BJP's K Janachandran finishing fourth with only 5,728 votes.

BJP's Swaran Salaria is on 2nd position whereas AAP's Major General (retd) Suresh Khajuria is struggling on 3rd position.

Samsung forecasts bumper profits as CEO resigns amid 'unprecedented crisis'
The company forecast bumper quarterly earnings on Friday, putting it on track to post a record operating profit for the period. Kwon joined Samsung in 1985 as a researcher in the company's Semiconductor Research Institute in the United States.

The Gurdaspur by-election was necessitated by the death of actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna, a BJP MP. PP Basheer was Kunhalikutty's opponent in the Assembly election also and IUML was not expecting anything less than a majority of 30,000 votes in the bypolls also. Counting centres have been set up at Sukhjindra College Gurdaspur for the six assembly constituencies and for the rest three constituencies of Pathankot district, it has been set up at the SD College in Pathankot.